831 NE Avery Street, Newport, OR 97365 • Ph: 541-265-8571 • Fax: 541-265-3862
Current E-Edition

Top Stories Sports Community Entertainment&Arts Business Opinion Obituaries Photos Home 

Mark Saelens is appointed to seat on Newport City Council

Modified: Tuesday, Jan 8th, 2013

Three new faces joined the Newport City Council Monday night. Sworn in after wins on the November ballot were Laura Swanson, Ralph Busby and Dean Sawyer, who won his first full term after being appointed in 2011. In a 6-2 vote, the council appointed Mark Saelens to fill the two remaining years of Sandy Roumagoux’s council term after she was sworn in as mayor. Pictured are: Laura Swanson, front-left, Sandy Roumagoux and David Allen; Dean Sawyer, back-left, Mark Saelens, Dick Beemer and Ralph Busby. (Photo by Larry Coonrod)

NEWPORT – After interviewing four applicants to fill the Newport City Council seat vacated by Sandy Roumagoux’s swearing in as mayor, the choice came down to two candidates, with Mark Saelens edging out Jeff Bertuleit in a 6-2 council vote.

For the complete article see the 01-09-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 01-09-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal